Come Over For Breakfast – Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins!

It’s no secret that I love sweets. That’s probably also why I love baking so much – so I can eat all the sweet treats that I want. My dessert of choice is carrot cake, in case you were wondering! But, this weekend I baked banana nut chocolate chip muffins for my friend Tina’s birthday breakfast potluck. Banana nut muffins are extremely easy to make because they require minimal ingredients and only a few steps. However, my challenge with baking is always around egg substitutes. Usually I use applesauce in place of egg, but I found a new tip that I am so excited about and had to share.

I came across a muffin recipe on Green Kitchen Stories that suggested using a combination of flax and water in lieu of egg.  One tablespoon of flax powder and three tablespoons of water equates to one egg. Simple! I even found that the flax kept my muffins more moist than applesauce does, which is one thing I am particular about in baked goods. Now, I’m going to have make some carrot cake! Stay tuned.

photo

-Sheena

One thought on “Come Over For Breakfast – Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins!

Leave a Reply

