Come over for dinner – kabocha squash farro salad

FullSizeRender(2)I am scared of gourds. I am scared of how hard they are to cut, how to cook them properly and their overall mass just terrifies me. Yet it’s October so I thought I would face my fear head on and buy a damn kabocha squash from the Fort Mason Farmers Market. How did it go? Well…

FullSizeRender(1)Pretty well! I kept it easy and roasted the squash in the oven then tossed it in a farro salad. Here’s what I did:

1. Cut the kabocha squash into 1 inch thick wedges. Add salt, pepper, cumin and olive oil and roast in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Let cool.

2. At the same time, cook 1 cup of farro on the stove top and let boil for 10 minutes. While they cooked, I chopped up tomatoes, chives, basil and shredded 1/3 cup of Parmesan cheese. I also made the vinaigrette (1 tbsp. dijon mustard, 1/3 cup sherry vinegar, 1/3 cup olive oil, salt, pepper).

3. After the farro is done, I put in the tomatoes, chives, basil, cheese, 1 cup of arugula and dressing and tossed all together. I then cut the cooled squash into 1 inch bite size pieces and mixed. Delicious! I’m looking forward to tackling more squash recipes this fall. I’m thinking a pumpkin cookie is in my future. Happy Autumn!

-Nikki

Leave a Reply

