Good Morning!

What better way to start the day than with some pancakes? Making breakfast – especially on the weekend – is so gratifying. It oddly (sadly?) makes me feel really accomplished.  Today’s menu consisted of quinoa pancakes. I’m vegetarian and it can be hard to get enough protein in my diet. There are about 24 grams of protein in 1 cup of organic white quinoa – mixing some into pancakes is an effortless way to start the day.

As I was trying this recipe for the first time, I wanted to make it easy on myself; so, I used Aunt Jemima pancake mix as my base. Combine the mix, cooked quinoa and water and voila, the batter is ready. Don’t forget to add a touch of butter to the skillet before you put the batter down so the quinoa doesn’t burn.

Ingredients for 10-12 pancakes:

½ cup Aunt Jemima pancake mix

½ cup cooked quinoa

¾ cup water

The pancakes were slightly on the savory side which made for a delicious change. I added blueberries and syrup to sweeten it up. The texture was almost identical to that of a regular pancake; still soft and fluffy – you can’t even tell it’s a healthier option.

photo (6)

-Sheena

Leave a Reply

